Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
05.27.03
The Land Of The See
After nearly two decades of being chained to glasses or contact lenses, I�m getting that LASIK eye surgery tomorrow.

When I was in third grade, my friend Wendy got new glasses. About one week later, I looked over and realized I couldn�t make out the dates on the class calendar anymore. Of course, they all thought I was faking so that I could match Wendy, but I showed �em � I failed that eye exam with precision and accuracy, and was thus awarded my new horribly ugly eyeglasses that I chose because Lucy from Charlie Brown was etched into the side.

I�ve gotten progressively worse since then. Once I got contacts in high school, I kissed the glasses goodbye and wore contact lenses with devotion that rivaled Travolta�s commitment to Scientology.

When I got extended-wear lenses, it was like Eyeball Eden. I would pop those suckers in and not take them out for months. In the meantime, I got more and more nearsighted. Now, I�m at the point where without my lenses, I could use a Seeing Eye Bat, and still be better off.

So I had my appointment last week, and my surgery is scheduled for tomorrow. My eye doctor is very funny. Apparently, I�m blessed with �thick-ass corneas,� which should make the procedure even easier. I�m not scared right now, but I�m sure once I plop my butt in that chair tomorrow, it�ll be a whole new story.

I had some humorous anecdotes about the week I�ve spent wearing glasses, after having been a slave to contacts for 10 years. But it�s Two Talk Show Tuesday today, and no surprise, I�m horribly behind. So they�ll have to wait until Thursday.

If I survive the surgery, that is.

Dum Dum DUUUUUMMMMM! (Dramatic soap opera segue. Wait, you got that? Never mind then.)

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids