Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
6.7.02
If I Have To Hear That "Helluva Town" Song One More Time...
Well, look at me, all updating from Chicago and shit.

I arrived rather uneventfully yesterday. Made great, great time on the drive to the Miami airport - so great, that after I was whisked through security, I had over an hour to kill before boarding. The airport was freaking abandoned.

So because I'm a giant tool, I decided to do the only thing I hadn't had time to do before I left the house - paint my toenails. Since I know airport types are particularly sensitive to things like "chemical fumes" these days, and I felt weird giving myself a pedicure in front of the people waiting for my flight, I kind of huddled up in a deserted corner and got to work.

Every time an airport employee would cruise on by, I became paranoid they'd come over and tell me to stop, and I'd have to arrive in Chicago with 4 painted toenails. So whenever I spotted an airport worker, I'd huddle up and hide my forbidden nail polish.

Until I remembered that in this day and age, it's probably not the best idea to isolate yourself in an airport, act suspicious, and then each time you spot an authority figure, quickly hide something behind your back while whistling nonchalantly.

The flight was long and I watched "My Big Fat Greek Wedding." Wow, that was a bland movie. Some funny lines, but mostly... blah.

My friend Yoders A(college buddy I'm here to visit) picked me up at Midway, and I could tell he'd already hit a happy hour that day. So we went home, I took a quick shower, and we went to a couple of bars, ending up at my favorit - "The Underground Wonderbar."

Long, skinny room with a stage at one end. Great lounge act, but the teeny little stage held: 2 drummers with sets, a pianist with piano (not keyboard), two bassists, a singer, and a sax player. Not only were they all packed up there, jamming like mad, but if you had to take a leak, you had to walk through them to the bathroom behind the stage.

We called it a relatively early night and hit the hay. Now, we're at another college buddy's house relaxing some more before we hit an Oktoberfest followed by a kegger followed by clubbing. Oh, I had a great brunch this morning - mozzerella and asparagus omelet. I told Shawn I'd make her one when I get home. Hey, wanna hear from Yoders? Here you go:

Hello, yoders here. Today we will be going to the Goose Island Oyster Fest where you stand around in the sun all day and eat oysters and drink Guiness. It's going to be grand. Party afterward.

Cheers,

Yoders

(Jamie again)

And that's all I have to say about that.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids