Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
12.4.00
More Fishing, Still No Catching
OK, before I begin the weekend recap, I just have to say this message from the "UNFDA" is the funniest response to an entry I've gotten yet. Neal is afraid. Very, very afraid.

Moving on... We worked on the new place for a little while Friday afternoon, then we just got a video and stayed in, because we had plans to go FISHING the next morning. At 6 a.m. Yawn.

So we got up and drove over to J and E's. What a frustrating day. Those tarpon are pretty damn smart.

At one point, we were surrounded by jumping, rolling tarpon. Dozens, some so big they looked like silver Loch Ness Monsters. We had the water baited up, trying to get them into a feeding frenzy... literally throwing live shrimp into the water. They were jumping and getting the shrimp all around us, but not the ones on our hooks. Damn it. E said we'd have had a better chance of jumping in and grabbing one with our hands than we would of hooking a tarpon that day.

I had two bites toward the end. The first time, my reel was going out slowly - chink, chink, chink. We believe the damn genius tarpon was holding the shrimp in his mouth, feeling it out. The second time, there was on fast tug on the line - reeee!, and that was it.

One good thing, though. J and E are the friends with whom we ALWAYS see cool wildlife, and Saturday was no exception. Whne we were in the middle of the Frustrating Tarpon-Hole from Hell, J exclaims, "Look a manatee!"

Neal and I squint off into the distance, trying to spot it. It turns out the little guy (and 2 of his buddies) were right next to the boat. Manatees are funny.

They're big and fat, covered in slime. They fart. Their breath STINKS. One puff of wind from their nostrils could kill a cat. And here we are, "Awww! Look at you! You're so precious! Oh, come here! I love you so much, you sweet little thing!"

We all got to pet the friendly one. When Neal pet him, he rolled onto his back, like, "Scratch the belly, baby." They are slimy and slippery on their backs, like how pier supports feel... coated in sludge after being in the water for so long. They're noses are hairy and feel different - kind of rough, like an elephant. (I happen to know this because I rode an elephant about a year ago. That is a story for another time.)

I was just commenting the other day, how manatees are the only wildlife this area is known for that I hadn't seen yet. Now I can move away, I've done it all!

Yeah, right.

Anyway, a good friend from Ohio and a couple of his work buddies are down here on a dive trip, so we met up with them Saturday night. We went bar-hopping, and got really drunk. At the sleazy biker-dance bar, there was a wedding party hanging out and dancing. Funny.

The bride and her bridesmaids even got up on the bar and danced. Now, that's nice. All romantic, grinding on a sweaty bar, bring gawked at by college kids, shaking your tulle skirt to the mood-enhancing sounds of Eminem.

Actually, I thought it was cool that they just went out and partied and had fun on their wedding night. That wouldn't have been my choice of venue, but... It's good to get a little wild during life-changing events. And if it's not a blast, what's the point of tying the knot?

Anyway, we woke up late Sunday. I went swimming, Neal worked on the new place. Then we both worked on it a little. I'm scraping paint off of cupboard doors right now. Whee.

Just stayed in last night. BUT --

Here we go again. Neal's out of town, for a week. He left this morning, and doesn't get back till Friday. I wish I could say I'm all strong and independent and I'm cool living all by myself, but I'm not. And I never bought a hamster.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids