Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
12.28.03
Dispatch From Ohio, 2003.
Tomorrow, I fly back to Miami. Today, I'm eating burgers with my dad, his girlfriend and Beaker. Then, we're going to go for a swim in the hot tub.

It's been an interesting annual holiday visit this year. Brought Beaker - first boy since Neal. He had a better time than he or I expected, I think.

Here, let me ask him.

Beaker: "It was everything. It wasn't everything. It was great. No! Stop! Stop typing! Hee hee hee haa haa! Stop it! You're mean. Now we know why I'm not on the internet."

And there you have it, straight from the boyfriend's mouth.

Beaker: "But seriously, it was perfect. It snowed a little in the beginning, then got very nice for our traveling."

He's right. It was snowing when we arrived, and he was really excited - Beaker hasn't seen snow since he was 5 years old or so. Here's a list of ways we appreciated the weather:

1. Went to my dad's friend's farm. Rode 4-wheelers. I think that this may be the last time I'm allowed to do that, because Beaker managed to flip one. He was okay, although I thought he was dead and was absolutely frozen in place when I saw his feet sticking out from under the upside-down vehicle. I finally made my legs move, and he was out by that time, and I helped him flip it. He broke off the man's drink holder, and bent but didn't crack the windshield - not bad, considering. At least he's okay.

2. During a night of wild family bar-hopping, he hit me in the side of the head with a snow(ice) nugget he scraped off of the side of my sister's car. Beaker then learned why snowballs are not so fun.

Beaker: "What do you mean? They're fun! I had a great time!"

Me: "Shut up, fucker. It hurt, and the entire left side of my head was soaked during sub-zero temperatures. NOT! FUN!"

He was so excited to see snow, so excited to see icicles. Literally, face lit right up. That was really fun.

3. We were taken out to dinner by an Elk - my dad and sister are both members. He was so nice, and I had an excellent steak. Then, sat in a bar and had Jagr-bombs (new to me) until we were ripped. Beaker says we were swarmed by fifty guys. My sister and I are always popular. I can't help it.

4. We did the Xmas Eve church thing and the Christmas morning gifts thing. Then we did the drive to Pittsburgh thing - as Beaker said above, the weather was very mild for the rest of the trip. Arrived at my grandma's condo for our last stay there - we believe it's been sold. (If you'll recall, she died earlier this year. I'm always a little sad there. I miss her.

5. Christmas night at my aunt and uncle's place. I was merrily buzzing along until my uncle whipped out the Grand Marnier and started pouring us shots. That was it for me - I officially became, in the words of my aunt, "Too drunk to hurl."

6. But I woke up, and Beaker said I bounced out of bed like I'd gotten 11 hours of relaxing sleep, instead of 7 hours of being passed out. Maybe I shouldn't be so happy I don't get hungover - I'd probably drink less.

7. Took Beaker ice skating, for all of 9 minutes. We both wanted to do it, and then they gave us our totally gay figure-skating rentals, and they hurt both of our feet and ankles. We went around twice and that was enough. Dad couldn't believe it - he was like, "I was just looking for a place to settle in and watch, and Jamie comes up like, 'We've had enough. Let's go.'" That's one of the things I like most about Beaker - so many people feel so much unnecessary obligation. We have none.

8. We took Beaker on a great mini-tour of Pittsburgh. Rode the incline, and went to Station Square, where Beaker bought a palm-reading book, of all things.

Beaker: "There's more to it than just the palm. Ya got tips of fingers, backs of hands, spaces between fingers... I had no idea."

Went to mom's side of the fam. That was very nice.

And here we are now. Last night in Ohio, sitting in front of the computer, also packing and doing laundry and having cocktails. Of course. Anything else you'd like to tell the nice folks, Beaker?

"Can't wait to get back to the Keys."

Me either, baby.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids