Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2002-11-26
Two Jamies, No Waiting.
It�s Two Talk Show Tuesday today, so I only have time for a quickie, but I wanted to tell you about what happened during my morning show.

The guests and I sit in one studio, but a wire is run from that studio to another for actual broadcast. The reason is because the broadcast studio is about the size of a closet, and much as I generally enjoy my radio show guests, I�d feel weird with them sitting on my lap during the show.

Today, I was 2/3 of the way through a more-interesting-than-I-expected show about the impact of fishing on the Keys economy. All of a sudden, I heard my own voice beginning a pre-recorded newscast through my monitor headphones. Much to my guests� alarm, I whipped around to see a salesman in the broadcast studio, punching buttons like a typewriter monkey. VERY much to my guests� alarm, I made the �keep going� motion and shot out of the studio to rip off someone�s arm. My producer beat me to it, though, and all was well within a minute.

However, to the average listener, it sounded like in the middle of my own talk show, I went berserk and started randomly spouting out news stories while my guest was telling a charming fishing tale.

I�m thinking maybe it�s good if the listeners think I�m a little berserk. That way, if I crack in a few years, no one will be TOO surprised.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids