Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2002-08-27
A Little More Well-Rested
Sleep Update:

Last night was a little better. I popped 1/2 a Tylenol PM at 8:30. I slept through the night, but didn't pass out as quickly as I'd have liked. I wanted to fall asleep at 9ish, and didn't until a little after 11. Whole pill tonight, methinks.

So I still feel tired, but certainly better than the hellishness that was yesterday. I know I look better. All day yesterday, I kept expecting people to gasp when they saw me. But I am discovering that one of the effects of sleeplessness is some major short-term memory loss. If I don�t write it down, it never happened.

Injury Update:

Shawn and I went to the Sandbar again Sunday for salt and sun and fun. And shirtless boys, whatever.

Anyway, here�s the injury wrap-up for the afternoon:

1. My non-smoking friend turns to me, says, �Hey, you wanna see a trick? Give me your cigarette butt.� He then proceeds to flip it around 180 degrees so the lit end is IN HIS MOUTH. Since it was the last thing in the world I expected him to do, I freaked out, jumped back, and smacked my knee on the boat�s prop.

2. Walking. Just walking. Ran into the prop again, this time making contact with my left shin. Group of strange men walking by found it quite amusing.

3. Same friend as above decides he�s going to try to lift me all the way onto the boat. I say, �Okay, if you promise this won�t hurt me in any way.� He promises. He drops me, and the back of my right leg smacks down on this green thing that juts out of the back of the boat.

Injury #1 hurts the most, but #3 is the biggest.

I told Rudey about those, and she�s decided that she and I will have an Injury To The Death Match, with points awarded for each of us for things like degree of publicity, amount of pain, and largest resulting wound. I like the idea, but think we need an impartial judge, because we�re both convinced we�re the Biggest Klutz.

Marriage Update:

No, not for me, numbnuts. My friend Blossy is finally engaged. I�d been pretty proud to make it to 25 years old without ever have had been a bridesmaid, but she�s breaking that streak. She�s my oldest friend.

Blossy: �We�re finally engaged!�

Me: �Congratulations! When and how?�

Blossy: �Last night, on the couch.�

Me: �Heh. It sounds like you�re playing Clue. �Last night, on the couch, with the diamond.��

Blossy: �And the candlestick.� (I wasn�t sure if that was a euphemism or not.)

Me: �Well, just let me know what I need to do and all that � the whens and wheres.�

Blossy: �I�m really not sure what I want yet � I�m still all excited.�

Me: �Okay. Well, here are the things you need to start thinking about. What kind of strippers do you like? Remember, the classier they look, the less they take off, so you have to start thinking about what�s more important: visual appeal or increased nudity. Oh, and jello shots? What flavors do you like?�

Blossy: �I was thinking we�d go to Niagara and gamble.�

Me: �Strippers are a gamble! Will they remove the g-string or won�t they? You never know!�

Blossy: �Oh, my god. Between you and Lisa, this is going to be bad.�

Me: �In a totally good way.�

So bad, it�s good. If that doesn�t describe a quality wedding, I don�t know what does.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids