Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
02.27.03
Seven Miles Of Limp?
Clearly, The Powers That Be do not want me to run the Seven Mile Bridge Run race this year.

If you recall from this time in 2002, I was announcing my intentions to run the race, and defeat the Bus of Shame. Through a unique strategy of walking and jogging, after only 2 months of running, I finished the sucker in a somewhat-respectable-but-actually-embarrassing 1 hour and 20 minutes. Hey, I was proud at the time.

This year, I decided that I would run the entire thing, and would like to cut my time down to closer to an hour � maybe plus five or ten minutes. But the new goal was to RUN the entire seven miles. No walking!

Then, New Year�s happened, and I fell through a damn dock, nearly breaking my ankle and leg in the process. (Update: Nearly two months after the fall, there�s still a large, deformed-looking lump on my left shin. I�m so sexy.)

About two weeks ago, I was finally healed enough to get back into a regular training schedule. I stopped smoking, pretty much. And the biggest success is that I began running in the mornings, one of the things that set me back last year� all my training had been in the evenings, and the run itself began at 7 a.m� I felt sluggish, to say the least. Regardless, I was on track this year, with a month and a half of training time left before the big event.

Until last night, when I broke my damn toe in Tae Kwon Do. We were practicing back kicks. The ironic thing is, I was practicing spinning LESS than I had been, thereby simplifying the kick and reducing my chances of hurting myself.

Unless, of course, you happen to be me. Meaning, three kicks in, you do the new-and-improved mini-spin, and the rest of your foot turns, but your stupid little left pinky toe stays stuck on the mat, accompanied by a crisp little snapping sound.

It hurts to push off of that toe at all, which is unfortunate, because, you know, that�s what toes are FOR. Leverage and balance.

The injured toe is purple and swollen. It looks like a little stuffed sausage. (Yep, still sexy over here.)

So no running for me, for at least a week and possibly more. Yippee! I�m up to a three-mile distance, but not regularly � that�s pushing it a little. How the hell am I going to add four miles to that in just over a month?

I really don�t think I can. I want to, but I know my limits. So� Are The Powers That Be telling me not to run this race? Is injury-after-injury a sign to skip it this year, and just enter some nice little 5Ks instead?

My sister and I both had the exact same thought: God is injuring me, preventing my from running, because the bridge is going to collapse this year!

I sent my application request today, and will have to decide whether to send the application, with a $30 fee, either this weekend, or early this week?

So what do I do? Do I apply in the face of the injuries, possibly waste 30 bucks, and take the risk of something taking me out the day of the race? Or do I give up, say fuck it, and just do the pussy races this year?

What do you think?

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids