Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
01.20.03
The Second Annual Jamie's Dad Guest Entry
Well, my dad got inspired the other night and wrote up his version of his visit in December. Somehow, his guest entries always end up sounding like a love letter to me and to my readers, but there�s nothing wrong with that, is there? So, without further whatever, take it, Dad!

Gary to earth� Gary to earth� hello?� hello?� is anyone there? (Houston, I think we have a problem.)

Ever felt this way? Well, my oldest daughter, Jamie, called me tonight, and I can�t help but recall that old, familiar phrase. Of course, I think the only one �home� tonight was me.

First of all, Jamie had a tad too much wine before the call. Then Shawn got on the line, and while I don�t think she was in the same shape as Jamie, well, all we talked about was sex, so I�m not exactly sure.

Some things I think I learned from tonight�s conversation (or, to steal a phrase from a journalist I once loved to follow, �Some Things I Think I Think�):

Jamie�s mom and I never had sex, and Jamie was born courtesy of some holy spirit in a little stable in Bethlehem.

Shawn is looking for the �right guy� after her recent break-up, but Jamie�s Christmas gift to her has brought her a certain modicum of satisfaction in the meantime (you figure it out)� although the �real thing� is much better.

Shawn thinks I�m a pretty good-looking guy, and if she doesn�t find someone soon, we�re a pair. I�m probably staying in Shawn�s room the next time I visit them in Florida (!!!), despite the 25+ years age difference.

Shawn and I may soon be visiting a nudist resort together, and although I would love it, she thinks she would like it pretty fine, too.

Jamie lets go of the phone when she can�t stand the heat of embarrassment.

Other than that, it was a pretty normal phone call, and all I was doing was just sitting in my family room, minding my own business, when the call came in.

Their timing was right on though, because a friend of mine sent me some of the �best quotes ever regarding sex� today, and I�d like to share some:

"It's so long since I've had sex, I've forgotten who ties up whom." - Joan Rivers.

�If it wasn't for pick-pockets and frisking at airports I'd have no sex life at all." - Rodney Dangerfield.

�Sex is one of the most wholesome, beautiful and natural experiences that money can buy." - Steve Martin.

�My girlfriend said to me in bed last night 'you're a pervert,� and I said, that's a big word for a girl of fifteen'." - Emo Philips.

�I'm such a good lover because I practice a lot on my own." - Woody Allen

"My love life is terrible. The last time I was inside a woman was when I visited the Statue of Liberty." - Woody Allen.

�I believe that sex is a beautiful thing between two people. Between five, it's fantastic." - Woody Allen.

�You don't appreciate a lot of stuff in school until you get older. Little things, like being spanked every day by a middle aged woman: stuff you pay good money for later in life." - Emo Philips.

"See, the problem is that God gives men a brain and a penis, and (He only gives) enough blood to run one at a time." - Robin Williams.

Still, I had the pleasure tonight of having a few moments to myself before they called, so I visited all of Jamie�s diary messages on the computer since mid-December. Couldn�t believe it had been all that long since I last checked in. What fun.

I�m sorry I hadn�t checked in sooner, because it was obvious that Jamie wanted me to write something for her diary after my last trip to Florida. I had a WONDERFUL time visiting with her and Shawn� drinking� dancing� drinking� eating� drinking� ok, I guess you get the idea. But, so much to do in just so little time. I had a great time fishing with Ry, and boy, did he show us how to catch a bundle, then he cleaned them, and what a wonderful dinner (Shawn cooked, Jamie supervised).

Jamie may think she is an �accident waiting to happen� with the New Year�s Eve fall and all (and she is), but she didn�t tell you about how we touched base at about 2:00am on New Year�s Eve night - she in Florida - me in Dallas staying with a great friend - and how wonderful it was to talk and share the experiences of our night. I had probably one of the best New Year�s ever - and I didn�t even get wet (except for that one drink I spilled, but that is a different story)!

I love her lots, Shawn, too. When I visited them in Florida in early December, and (ba-boom) was guest star on Jamie and Kim�s talk show, I thought it would be a pretty innocent experience. Little did I know that they would turn the whole conversation of the show into the last dinner theater play I was in where I was a character in drag: �And, what is your bra size, exactly?�; and, �What size high heels do you wear, anyway?�; and, �Did you ever know that panty hose could be that �hot� to wear?�� guess you get the idea. Talk show hosts take you where THEY want you to go, whether you like it or not (and Jamie, I�m STILL waiting for the tape and photos - I will never send you the food processor you got for Christmas until I get them!).

I�m glad all of you guys check in on Jamie�s diary when you can. I guess I need to make a New Year�s resolution to do it more often� she is so, so special.

XOXO,

Dad

This is Jamie again. I should take this time to make some small corrections, just to set the record straight:

1. I don�t think I was born in Bethlehem, nor, most days, do I think I embody either the first or second coming of any sort of lord or savior. However, I AM firmly convinced that my sisters and I are all adopted, and mom and dad were always just REALLY good friends.

2. There is absolutely no fucking way my dad and Shawn are sharing a room the next time he visits. I mean, the thought of he and my mom hooking up is gross enough - I don�t need icky visions every time I look at my roommate, okay?

3. Same with the nudist resort. What is WRONG with these people? I was sitting RIGHT THERE! I think Dad�s just working overtime to procure his future image as a dirty ol� man. And again with the EW.

Can�t wait to read what he writes next year�

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids