Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2002-07-07
Ohilights - Highlights From Ohio. I Slay Me.
So I was in Ohio from the last Friday in June through the first Monday in July, and then I went back the next weekend.

This last visit was a little longer - from Thursday to Tuesday. I arrived Thursday night. (Neal picked me up at the airport both times. I'm going to have to discuss that situation another time. Partly because it's still ongoing this very second.) On Friday morning, I discovered my mom had never had a pedicure, so we booked one and then went to see the Ya-Ya movie. She cried at the end, so I knew she was happy with it.

My mom is thin and bald and clearly a sick person. She walks slowly, and usually has a cane. I have a problem. When we're in public, I see the way people stare at her, and I want to fucking rip their arms off. I'm by no means a violent person, but I have vivid fantasies about beating the shit out of slack-jawed assholes who gawk at her like they'd gawk at a four-foot cockroach. The closest I've come to actual violence was several months ago, when a teenage boy bugged his eyes out, then snickered at her appearance. She didn't see it, but I did. If she had, I would have said something to him. Since I didn't want to draw any more attention and embarrass her, I just subtly stepped closer to the little fucker and gave him the withering stare of death. The look of terror and humiliation on his face was the most beautiful sight I saw that entire day.

Besides my mom's big brown eyes and cute fuzzy head, that is.

Saturday night, I went out for a bit with my dad and my sister. They are both Elks, so we went to the lodge to check out this new DJ they hired.

It was fun but pretty uneventful, except for when I won a limbo contest. Just because most of my challengers were close to retirement and drunk does not mean that I can't Go pretty fucking Low. I just don't get beat at limbo. In my head, the Limbo Song sounds like Let's Get Ready To Rumble.

Sunday and Monday were spent hanging out with mom more. We played computer games, talked, went through photos, and even spent time just watching TV together. I felt a little guilty about that at first, like TV time is wasted time, but trying to make every moment a quality moment is really exhausting.

Dad actually said on my last evening there that he felt a little bad that we'd barely spent time together, but that wasn't really the point of this trip.

It's good to be back in the Keys, but I've been sleeping poorly, working hard, and really tired.

Even though there's nothing planned, I'm looking forward to a weekend at home, where I do not once have to see the inside of the discount parking shuttle to the Ft. Lauderdale Airport.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids