Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
02.09.04
Oops. Meant To Put This Up Before I Left Friday
I posted my last entry at about 4 a.m. this past Saturday night, after sitting down with my friend Reel and showing him my web page, then being all, �Hey, we could post an update RIGHT NOW!� And he was all, �COOL!�

Once I�d logged in, we both sat there and stared blankly at the screen before I just started typing the first words that came out of my mouth. Thus, my last entry.

Here�s what led me up to that point.

I�ve told you all that I�m chairing a major fundraising event for the American Cancer Society this year. It�s so major that not only am I planning the event itself, but several smaller events that lead up.

I spent a good chunk of last week promoting and organizing one of the prelim events, until 5:30 AM Saturday, when I found myself in a dark, rainy parking lot desperately attempting to keep spirits high as we kicked off a Flea Market.

It was a rocky start. I was terrified that I�d wasted everyone�s time. Things started to pick up after a while, but it was too late for me. The stress and sogginess were getting to me. When someone dropped off a hideous teal-green foofy bridesmaid dress to �sell� (as if anyone would buy it � they were dumping trash, damn it), I had no choice but to put that sucker on.



Before you start laughing too hard, hey! Check out that little girl in the background! I sold the dress to her for 25 cents. Oh, you should have seen the haggling that went into that deal. I don�t know what is so innately untrustworthy about me � could it have been the jeans and sneakers peeking out from under my formalwear? Perhaps my dark-circled eyes and scary skin from lack of sleep? Or the crazed look in my eyes that surely led me to donning the dress in the first place? Anyway, I could NOT convince that girl that if she found 25 cents, I would sell her that dress off of my back.

Until I did. She ran off. The best part is, when she came back clutching her 2 dimes and 5 pennies, she started to hold it out to me, then had a second thought and snatched her hand back.

�Take the dress off, first.�

LIKE I WAS GOING TO TAKE HER MONEY, AND THEN KEEP THE DRESS. LIKE I�D SCREW OVER A LITTLE KID.

The girl�s mom was none too happy that I�d brought the monstrosity into her household, either. She kept shooting me dirty looks, and saying, �Thaaanks a lot� all sarcastically.

YOUR LITTLE GIRL IS HAPPY, AND THE MONEY FIGHTS CANCER.

Get over yourself.

The end of the flea market led to a trip home, a long nap, and a hot shower. There was lots of eating. There was a gang of us heading out to some bars, and somehow, at 2 a.m., I was wandering around with a bucket clutched to my chest, collecting tips �for the band.� (Yes, I gave them to the band. And you laugh, but I booked that damn band for my fundraising event. Circle of life, bitches.)

Then, there was going to my friend�s house for �just a second,� then posting my totally brilliant entry you can see by clicking the �previous� button, then not getting home until almost 5:30 a.m.

Now, I�m off to Cincinnati, to spend a weekend with one of my best friends. I hear there�s freezing rain, but for some reason, I�m still looking forward to it. I must REALLY like this friend.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids