Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2002-09-25
Crocodile Jamee
(Should have been posted Tuesday. Wednesday�s to come tomorrow, I hope � it�s my Birthday Week, and it�s been a fucking frenzy. Just how I like it.)

As I�m writing this, I�m popping a big sheet of bubble wrap. This is the most fun thing in the entire world, and I�m irrationally happy at this very moment.

This weekend, Co-Host Kim and I visited the Alligator Farm. (As an aside, that�s an amazing web site, and really impressive url, considering what the farm actually is. I mean, it�s fun, but the word �spectacular� or even �super,� doesn�t really come to mind.) We went there because they feature one of the only female alligator wrestlers in the world, and we had her booked for Tuesday night�s radio show. So we wanted to see the goods before we talked her up.

When we arrived, she wasn�t there and was unreachable. While we were turned off by her flakiness, we still took the opportunity to explore the park and accept comped airboat rides.

I think my favorite word in the entire radio profession is the word, �Comp.� I wouldn�t get to have nearly as many adventures without it.

First, we watched an alligator feeding. An employee flung pieces of raw chicken into this pen, and we watched, fascinated, as the alligators gobbled up the meat breaded with dirt. Tip: When watching an alligator feeding, do not stand behind the chicken-flinger. We got a little� spattered. There were concerns about salmonella poisoning, and I�ve smelled better smells.

We took an airboat ride, which was fun but strange. Since they don�t have motors, just the big fan, you can pretty much go anywhere. We�d be following a watery path, then he�d suddenly turn and we�d be on a marshy bit that looked like land. Very disconcerting, but the 360s were fun.

We looked at snakes, more alligators, a couple of crocodiles, and various other random lizards. Kim and I held a big python.

There must be something about mass quantities of reptiles that makes you hungry, because we gorged ourselves on chicken sandwiches and ice cream on the way home, visions of raw breasts being gobbled up by panting alligators dancing in our heads.

Mmm. Chicken.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids