Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
06.26.03
Totally A Contender
So, I belong to this Women Wearing Suits Club, right? Business and professional and we eat lunch together once a month and I�ve met some great people, totally worth the less than $100/year dues.

And so, this other member of this club approaches me, and asks if I�d like to be our chapter�s representative in a competition � it starts with districts (mine�s Miami to Key West), then the whole state, then nationals. And I say, �Sure, what do I need to do?�

And about a week and a half later (because it took a very long time to get the information I needed to properly participate), I face off against another member in my district. The main thing is the speech � I have six topics from which to choose, and I of course choose the angriest one with the most opportunities for smartassiness. Since she�s a genius who doesn�t often get her thoughts so crammed in her brain she�s rendered incapable of expressing a single one, Kelly helps me sort things out, and after only one phone call with her, I�m able to write what I think is a not-bad-at-all, cowboy speech.

There is also a �biographical packet,� pretty much a complicated application with four short essays, and an interview, where I�m grilled by a panel of judges.

And I win districts! And the villagers rejoice, and it�s supercool. And I get to go to state.

So I go to state last weekend, right? And it�s way better than I expect. I meet the highest-ranking woman EVER in the U.S. Army (and she signs my copy of her memoirs), and this other famous feminist author who I�ve admired for a little while now.

Plus, I become buddies with some of Florida�s most powerful woman, and I think they like me, at least in a mascot kind of way.

And while I�m at the state conference, I totally win the state level of competition.

Before I even realize it, this is starting to get big. A few of the local newspapers had interviewed me when I was GOING to state, but now they�ve all had a piece. And our sister station.

Suckily, the majority of expenses in attending the costly national conference are up to me, but unsuckily, my peeps have really stepped up. The station is covering one major expense, giving me the vaca days, and auctioning off a chunk of ads to benefit me. This more than I expected, and I practically devoted every news cast that day to singing the praises of my employers instead of running, you know, news. (I ran news.)

Another member of my local Women Wearing Suits has paid for my airfare. Just like that. Other have pledged money.

It�s not enough yet, but sheesh, it hasn�t even been a week and I�m like, halfway there.

So it looks like I�m going to nationals, and competing my little feminist heart out.

Also suckily, the nationals are being held in Cleveland.

But I�m trying not to dwell on that.

Keeping my eye on the prize.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids