Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
01.16.03
The Continued Chronicles Of Jamie's Ankle.
The good news is, my ankle is NOT broken.

The bad news is, I have muscle damage and I also have to pay a crapload of money for x-rays.

It looked so bad, though, that when the doctor came back to tell me the results of the x-rays, he said, �I can�t believe it, but� it�s not broken. I don�t know how.�

I know how! �Cause I got milk, bitch!

So he told me to keep it elevated all weekend. I sort of did that, in between dancing and drinking and other sweaty activities.

Monday, I went for a teeny little jog. It felt a little swollen and tender at the end, but other than that, okay.

I took it easy Tuesday, and noticed that I still have one place that is INCREDIBLY sore to the touch � a large lump on my inner left shin, above the ankle, that kind of makes me look deformed.

So last night, I went to Tae Kwon Do and told my instructor what was up, letting him know I need to take it easy.

I have a very, VERY hard time taking it easy. I�m a Go Go Girl as it is, and when it comes to TKD, which I love so much and find very rewarding, it is extremely difficult to hold back.

As a result, I was realizing that I was sore and tender needing to stop altogether, right when class was ending. So, perfect.

I go home and meet my friend Ry, because we had plans to cook dinner. While we were waiting for the water to boil, I said, �Hey, wanna see the new kick I learned tonight?�

He said, �Sure!�

So I kind of showed him how it works.

Ry said, �Like this?� and kind of kicked one leg out a little.

I dropped to the ground, in horrible pain.

Ry is an incredibly reserved, gentle person who would never, EVER intentionally hurt anything that wasn�t a fish. So he didn�t kick out very hard or anything, but managed � while wearing shoes � to make contact with that one awfully sore spot on my shin.

He took me down. Fell like a house of cards on the kitchen floor, praying for the pain to just go away. Poor Ry knows about the sore spot and realized what he did, and was all, �Oh, I�m so sorry! I didn�t mean to even touch you!�

Through gritted teeth, I told him that I know he didn�t.

He grabbed under my arms and tried to help me up.

Through gritted teeth, I asked him to PLEASE leave me there for just a few seconds until my leg stopped throbbing like �IT� in A Wrinkle In Time.

In a minute, I felt better, but I have to say, when it was time to put weight back on Ol� Sore Leg, I wasn�t sure I�d keep standing.

I kept standing, all the while doing that thing where you don�t want to make the person feel any worse because it was an accident, but DAMN if it doesn�t hurt.

Later, when we were on the couch, we both started laughing about it. Ry�s all, �I suck. You managed to make it through an entire Tae Kwon Do class, where kicking is the POINT, without getting kicked. And the first thing I do is nail you.�

Tonight, I�m going to a Going Away Party for one of the station�s employees.

It�s in a bar. A bar on a� dum dum DUM� dock.

I�m going to need lots of luck and no missing boards.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids