Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
10.3.01
Happy Suck Up Day To You
Mollie is here, and I am happy.

But first things first. It's time for....

The Obligatory Post-Birthday Meta Thank You Entry!

Birthday week was spectacular. My birthday usually kind of sucks, just because it's when everyone is going back to school, and no one is really ready to have fun yet. But everything fell into line this year. I freaking loved it.

Thanks Lovely Bonkrood, for the card and the concentrated, dehydrated beverages. Thanks to The Eternally Talented CrazyLady for the funniest online card I've ever received. Also, thanks for the card G. You know I love you. And you remember everything, and thank god. And thanks to everyone on White Noise, for all the good wishes. You all kick such ass, I don't even know what to do with you.

Many funny things happened yesterday, and I will write about them all in good time. But here's one that stands out.

'Twas Two Talk Show Tuesday,

and all through the station

Jamie was wishing

She had a vacation.

I'm in the middle of my first talk show of the day. A large government-run pool complex just opened up here, and my guests are the gold-medal winning swim coaches running the new local swim program.

Me: "Gold medals, huh? Can I have an autograph? And what were your events?"

Coach Dude: "Well, I earned my gold medal in the 100-meter crawl. And my fellow Coach here beside me, well, he's a 500-meter breast-stroker."

Picture it. I'm live on the air, in my little grown-up journalist outfit, wearing my little headphones and adjusting sound levels and asking the questions and running the show.

All of a sudden, some guest calls his friend a "breast-stroker," and I dissolve into a fit of giggles.

And I can't stop.

Fortunately, I manage to put my hand over the mic and giggle quietly and not make TOO much of an ass of myself. But we have dead air for a good 10 seconds while I attempt to regain my composure, and the coaches sit there looking at me with alternating incredulous, disbelieving, and panicking-at-the-silent-air-time expressions on their faces.

Which didn't help the giggling fit, by the way.

If you can believe it, that wasn't even the most entertaining part of yesterday.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids