Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
6.5.01
It Wasn't A Bad Trip Overall, Though.
I'd like to take a moment to apologize for the late entries. Since I've lost a significant amount of my internet access, I've had to rely on the kindness of others to post updates for me. I don't want to name names, but Neal (oops) has been quite the slacker.

So I went to Ohio this weekend to see my littlest sister graduate from high school. She's the last one. Moms and Pops are going to have some major empty nest syndrome setting in come fall.

The trip there totally sucked. Because I'm a touch old-fashioned, I like to dress up a little to travel. Not a suit or anything, but no jeans and no sneakers.

Well, a sprint through the Atlanta airport may just change my mind.

Things that caused me to almost miss my second flight, Part I:

1. First flight delayed because of weather. (Note: lying airport employees who kept saying things like, "When flights are behind because of weather, they'll usually hold connecting flights for a little while.")

2. Once again, seated in the very last row of first flight. In fact, I was so far back, the row wasn't even labeled, and I had to ask where I belong.

3. Crowded flight = no overhead space. My second carry-on had to be stashed 11 rows up.

4. 2nd flight was leaving from whole new terminal. Shuttle. Very far away.

So the first flight lands late, of course. I realize from talking to the guy next to me that I have 20 minutes until my next flight is scheduled to take off. They're certainly already boarding.

Things that caused me to almost miss my second flight, Part II:

5. Much taxiing for no apparent reason upon landing.

6. Bitch stewardess who won't let me go and get my bag and start making my way up to the front while we cruise around aimlessly. (Note: Bitch lying airport stewardess also told me that crazy story about them holding flights when they're delayed for weather. I don't know why they felt the need to give me false hope.)

7. Announcement from pilot that we have to use a different gate.

I'm getting frantic. When the little go-ahead "ping" sounds, the guy next to me pounds me on the back and shouts, "GO! GO!"

I run almost make it to my second bag before the giant wall of people stands up and cuts off my momentum.

I try begging.

Me: "Listen, everyone! I have 13 MINUTES to get to a whole freaking other terminal and catch my next flight! Can you pleeeeease move out of my way?!"

Bitch Passenger: "Me, too."

I later found out she was lying.

I finally get my bag and leap out of the plane after physically pushing Bitch Passenger and a cowboy out of the way.

Thus begins my sprint through the airport.

I fly down to the shuttle and literally leap through the doors as they're shutting. I help up the guy I knocked over in the process. He glares at me as we ride to the next terminal. The other stuttle passengers duck out of my way as I fly to the next shuttle.

More sprinting.

But I made it. Barely.

My shoes? While normally rather comfy, they are NOT sprinting shoes. I have many blisters. My feet are Band-Aid storage.

I hereby change my policy against sneakers when flying.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids