Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
4.30.03
Soul Sisters
My sister is coming for a visit tomorrow.

Technically, she arrives today. That date at the top is a big fat lie. But whatever.

Anyway, my sister is the best. She's two years younger than me. Mollie is my twin and my best friend and I love her so damn much. I can't wait to see her.

When we were little, we used to run out to the big picture window and wave goodbye to our daddy when he left for work at the ungodly hour he used to take off.

I've fought with her more fiercely than anyone in my whole life. It will never stop amazing me that we've said some of the horrible things we've said to each other, and still remain pals.

It's not uncommon for people who see us together to have a random urge to call their siblings and try to have a conversation.

Even though she's blue-eyed and smaller than me, there are a few pictures where even I always think we're each other, partly because we're borrowing each other's clothes, but mainly because we just stand the same.

We have the same laugh. I believe it was Bricktop who once described it as "annoying in stereo."

She tried to claw my eyes out on the school bus once.

Another time, mom and I couldn't find her after school, and my 7 year old self thought the world was ending.

We feet fight.

She is the only person in the entire world who understands how I feel about my mom's illness. She called last night upset.* I just made her laugh and hoped for the best.

I once tearfully bitched out a cheerleading advisor for letting the upperclasswitches pick on Mollie. It didn't do anything, but I actually stood up to someone.

We've shared a black lung's worth of cigarettes on my parents' front porch, squatting in the cold wearing PJs and whatever warm crap we could find, just talking.

For no reason, we instantly dislike anyone the other doesn't like. That isn't necessarily a good thing, but neither of us can help it.

I got her drunk for the first time. Damn Southern Comfort.

She and I and an ex-boyfriend once sang that horrible song, "What's Going On," top-volume, off-key, in the middle of a small bar while the other patrons just stared.

She got me my first post-college bartending gig.

Mollie gives big hugs for a little girl.

Some people out there have had very elaborate (and never carried out) revenge schemes plotted against them by us. We call it, "the wrath of sisters."

She's right now being extremely generous with her time and money making sure my littlest sister has a nice prom. They've never seen eye to eye, but a good prom is important to Mol.

We can walk down the street holding hands and never think twice about it.

We're jealous of each other. But neither one can help it, and I think we've come to an understanding on this point.

Mollie was Neal's and my first visitor last year. She shared our already small house with no complaints. We went to a local event, and I had one too many shots of rum. Therefore, when my shoes were hurting me on the walk back to the car, it was a good idea from my point of view to kick them off, walk the 5 feet up to them, put them back on. Then kick them off again, repeat repeat.

When she left last time, I cried at the airport as I watched her walk to the gate. Not because I missed her (even though I did), but because she wasn't 21 to me... She was 14 and way too young to be flying by herself and wouldn't have me there to talk to the flight attendant and ask for what she needed.

I can't wait till she gets here.

* Mom Update: During the treatment Friday, they found 10 more tumors, for a total of 12. (? the numbers still aren't making sense to me, but I'll figure it out. The total of 12 is what's important.) They were able to radiate 9, and are keeping an eye on the last three. I think. I don't know. Mom's sore but OK. We'll see.

Meta stuff: Kelly is now a moderator on my forum. Go say hi. Wish her big luck.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids