Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
4.3.01
Yes, I Know Carriers Are Like 20 Bucks At K-Mart. Shut Up.
I'm mostly over my cold. Thank you for the sweet get well card.

Like I said yesterday, Miss Budina also appears to have a cold. She's been sneezing frequently, and the other night she stayed out all night. When we let her back in in the morning, she was wheezing. Loudly. She did NOT sound good.

So Neal immediately called for a vet appointment. The earliest I could take her in is 4:30 this very afternoon.

Well, immediately after booking her a spot, Neal forgot where he made the appointment. It took several phone calls and my describing to him the ads in every phone book I could find before we could pin it down. Once we did, I called the office to confirm that they were indeed expecting our loony cat, and to ask a few questions.

Me: "Hi, I'm calling to confirm a vet appointment for a cat? It's for 4:30 under the name Neal."

Vet Lady: "Right... is the cat's name Miss... Miss... Miss Bu... Miss Bud...?"

Me: "Miss Budina?"

Vet Lady (giggling): "Yeah."

I had her give me specific instructions to the office.

Me: "Oh, and one more thing. Miss Budina adopted us relatively recently, and we don't have a leash or carrier or anything. Is there anyway I could be sure to carry her right into a back room or something? She's territorial and a little aggressive around other cats."

Vet Lady: "Well, the best thing to do is to put her in a pillowcase."

Long pause, while I try to pre-calculate how much blood this will mean I'm going to lose. Visions of me as white-trash cat mommy dance before my eyes.

Me: "Man, are you sure that's the way to go?"

Vet Lady: "Yes. They love being in pillowcases."

Me: "Weeeelllll.... OK. See you at 4:30."

Vet Lady: "Bye."

I hang up the phone, call Neal, and tell him what the Vet Lady said. After he laughed hysterically for a period of time, I informed him of something.

Me: "You SO owe me."

Neal: "No, I don-- OK. Yeah, I do."

Me: "So are you taking me out to dinner tonight or what?"

Neal: "Sure."

Me: "If I can still see my food after Miss Budina scratches my eyeballs out."

I'll let you guys know how it goes.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids