Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2001-04-26
How Can We Sleep While Our Beds Are Burning?
Get this.

There are two roads that connect the Keys to the rest of Florida. Because of an 8000 acre fire on the mainland, one of those roads was shut down Monday afternoon. They closed the other one this morning.

Everyone's stuck and screwed.

I'm trapped in the Keys.

Marooned on a desert island. Stranded on the coral reef. Fighting a natural disaster like Survivor hasn't ever seen.

Eh, it could be worse.

I have to thank everyone again, for all the nice emails and nice messages in the guestbook and all around kindness and compassion. I can't believe the kind of support I get from this community.

But.

I'm starting to feel like every time I put up a new entry, a bunch of readers feel obliged to send me a message that starts with, "Oh, Jamie." Do you guys feel obliged? I really don't mean to do that. This is just what's going on. Between the kitty and my mom, there's kind of a lot of sadness right now. Oh, don't think I don't appreciate the support. Because jeez, I reallyreally do. I just don't want anyone to be thinking, "Oh, for crying out loud. Jamie's updated. Great. Everytime I read a new entry from

her, I have to think of some new sympathetic crap to say."

I don't think you guys feel that way, but I wanted to be sure.

Boring, meta stuff:

Joe has reworked my design. It's beautiful. As soon as we tweak the sucker, I'll put it up, so look for it.

Also, to the forum fanatics -

Doesn't this suck? I shell out the cash, and the damn forum is down for a couple of days. Stupid EZ Board. I'm sorry, you all. I'll post here the very second it's back up, and I'll add some kind of goodie or something to make it up to you all. Any hey, if you're reading this and NOT signed up for the forum, why the hell not? We've got Kelly and Joey and Sara and Anne and Bricktop and a whole bunch of other goobers in there tearing it up all day long. Where else do you see flame wars over the hockey playoffs? Where else do the pretty girls hang out? Where else are the monkeys honored as saints?

No where.

So as soon as EZ Board gets their shit together, I suggest you all sign up.

OK? OK.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids