Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
12.7.00
I'm A Cranky Tenant
I CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE!

You know that saying, "There's a place for everything; everything has its place"?

Well, that is NOT TRUE in my house. I tried to straighten up yesterday, and just looked around helplessly. The kicker is, Neal and I don't have a lot of stuff. We just don't have anywhere to put the minimal material possessions we've acquired. House is TOO SMALL with NOT ENOUGH SURFACE AREA. It's virtually impossible to clean, because I've already thrown away every bit of garbage, put away the laundry, washed the dishes, wiped things down and... it still looks like a frighteningly oversized toddler mistook our house for a Lego, picked it up, shook it, and dropped it back down. Can you tell I'm ready to move?

Oh, yeah. Moving. There's another problem. We still have to scrape and spackle and paint. When Neal was getting ready to get out of town, I'm all, "Honey, when you get back, I'll have this place painted! I can't wait! I know, I still have to scrap and patch. I can totally handle that. Count on at least the back bedroom and the living room to be done, and all 6 cupboard doors will be scraped. Cool? Cool."

This was apparently not the week to go around exclaiming all that, because here's what I got done: 1/2 a cupboard door scraped. It's like I'm Bob Vela and Martha Stewart all wrapped into one.

And we don't have time to do it this weekend. That's what really sucks. This weekend is basically us driving up and down the Keys, over and over, and in between these drives, we'll do things like attend my company Christmas party and speak on panels and visit people. I'm hoping we'll get a couple hours in Sunday afternoon. Riiiight.

Fortunately, since we don't have any furniture, we don't need much room. So maybe we could finish ONE bedroom, and move everything into there. One bedroom is about the size of our entire house right now, anyway, so that should work.

God, I don't want to do that. I want it done NOW. I want a to decorate our first Christmas tree with Neal. I want to spread out, since we finally have some space. I want to start buying a couch and chairs and a coffee table and end tables and lamps.

Excuse me. I have to go scrape paint and feel guilty because I should be thankful I even HAVE a house, and there's a crapload of destitute people who would be happy to paint and scrape and live in one room and forgo a Christmas tree on their first Christmas living with their boyfriends and I'm a bad, selfish person for not appreciating what I have.

Did I mention that we haven't bought a single Christmas present yet?

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids