Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
11.9.00
Al Gore's Pen Pal, Part II
My dad arrives tonight. I've lived down here for about 8 and a half months, and this is the first time my a parent has visited me. Both of my sisters have been down.

Mom is coming along fine with her plastic knee. Still no signs of additional cancer. That's always a good thing. I talked to her last night, and she said she walked around the nurses station a few times yesterday.

One weird thing, though... she has to live in a rehab center for a week. She had a choice between the one in the hospital (a little over an hour from home) or one in a town about 15 minutes from home. She chose the one 15 minutes away... but it's a nursing home. Her logic is that she'll pobably get more visitors there and she wants the hell out of the hospital (can you blame her?), but I have to admit, it's rather strange to picture my not-even-50-years-old mommy in an old folks' home. Those places have that reputation for being depressing, so I hope it's not a downer for her.

I don't know what all I'm going to do with my dad. There's rarely a shortage of things to do down here, so I'm guessing we'll play it by ear. He's tons of fun, anyway. I'm sure we'll have some adventures.

***

My darling friend Gretchen was kind enought to tape the Growing Pains reunion movie off the Disney Channel this weekend. The package arrived yesterday. In a giddy rush of excitement, I rushed into the house, heated up some dinner, and popped that baby in the VCR. (Side note: I read that the woman who plays the mom was on a radio show somewhere promoting the reunion flick, all, "Well, Leo is shooting a movie, otherwise he'd totally have been in the reunion." Suuuuuuure.)

That movie was a big ball of putrid, sexist filth. I'd dignify it with one of my feminist rants, but to tell the truth... I don't think diaryland has the space for what's wrong with that movie.

I will tell you this, though: Alan Thicke is one of Satan's minions. Don't let anyone ever convince you of something different, or you run the significant risk of being sucked into his hell-hole of terror and doom. You have been warned.

***

I caught up with Al Gore again this morning. He told me he had so much fun answering your letters yesterday, he wants to do it again today. Jeez. He doesn't have anything better to do than twiddle his thumbs and wait for the ballot-counters here in the phallic state finish their jobs, so what the hell?

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids