Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
10.13.00
The Budget Gourmet
It's Friday the 13th, I'm sure you know.

The only one this year. There's always at least one and never more than three.

It's also a full moon tonight, so if you've been waiting for the perfect evening to forego shaving and howl at the moon, this is the time.

Neal and I have to eat at a specific gourmet restaurant 6 times before April 2001. Not "will try to." Not "decided to." Have to.

He stopped by the station to see me at the end of the work day yesterday.

I can't remember the name of the specific restaurant, so I'll just call it Chez Expensive.

Neal: "We have to eat at Chez Expensive 6 times by this coming April."

Me: "Okaaaay."

My Brain: "I can't wait to hear this one. Ask him why."

Me: "Why?"

Neal: "It's a great restaurant. Like 5 stars."

Me: "That's nice. Why?"

Neal: "It's right near my office."

Me: "Cool. Why do we have to go there? And WHY before April? Are they tearing it down?"

Neal: "No. It has good food."

Me: "Oh. Well, OK."

-- Long Pause --

Neal: "I spent forty dollars."

Me: "What? Ok. On what? Did you buy stock in Chez Expensive?"

Things are better now that Neal is gainfully employed, but we still have to be careful while we get in the black.

Neal takes a card out of his wallet. It's one of those punch cards, buy so many, get so many free.

My Brain: "Oh, shit. He got suckered by a salesman."

Neal (sheepishly): "He was a really good salesman."

After a very difficult and confusing conversation outlining the policies of the card, and how much it will cost us, I let go of my prejudice about specials like these and realize Neal made a good decision.

And I get to eat out at least 6 times between now and April.

But I still desperately want to giggle about the whole thing. Only Neal.

Me: "Well, if we use it, it'll be a good deal."

Neal: "That's what I thought! And it really will save money, and we'll have a good time."

Me: "Let's do it, then! Let's go tomorrow night. It's Friday night, and we don't have any plans. Let's try this thing out."

Neal: "No! We can't afford it."

Me: "WHAT?!"

This is the part of the conversation where I helplessly began laughing hysterically. I swear to God, that's what he said to me. Neal laughed eventually, too. God, where does he COME from sometimes?

And how nice that we're going to go out on some dates the next couple of months.

But jeez.

"We can't afford it..."

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids