Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
10.5.00
I'm not NOT licking toads!
I've got an intern. She's a nice, smart, cute girl.

My program director calls it "Jamie's School of Journalism." Dude, I don't know how to teach this shit. I'm trying, though.

She's a senior at the local high school. They have a pretty well-developed internship program there. I wish my high school had had something like that.

Anyway, her supervising teacher came in for a surprise check yesterday.

He introduced himself as, "Mr. ScaryTeacherNameHere."

I immediately regressed to 14-year-old Jamie. Stammering, can't make eye contact.

Then I felt this need to show him everything, like I was trying to justify the intern's extistence at the station. Weird.

So all of a sudden, I'm Vanna White.

"Here's the studio, this is what EDITING looks like, this is a FAX MACHINE..."

Right, Jame. They don't have those fancy paper-sendin' machines at the high school.

I just felt so sneaky, for no reason. I don't know.

Also, yesterday....

TOYS! Now, Neal and I aren't out of debt. Hell, he hasn't even gotten a paycheck yet.

But after my workout, I had 20 bucks burning a hole in my pocket. I went to Kmart.

Here's what I bought:

A Homer Simpson. He's about 6 inches tall. His arms and head move. But this was the selling point - he came with a little can of Duff. Uh-huh. Also, a bag of snacks, a remote control, and a donut with a bite out of it. You can put all of these things in little Homer's hands. It's the greatest. I may buy Monty Burns and Flanders today. There's also Homer with bowling stuff.

The rumor is (well, it says on the package), you can also buy these environments, like the Simpsons' living room or the Quick-E-Mart. And the environments will make the figures talk. Now, I couldn't find any environments. In fact, if anyone knows where they can be located, I beg you to email me. Pretty please?

A Goosh kit. Goosh is make by Nickelodeon. I can't even begin to describe how entertaining Goosh is. It's sticky, but only to itself. It's thinner than Jell-O, but thicker than that slime stuff my sister and I used to buy for a quarter out of slot machines in the grocery store. It feels like how the inside of a lava lamp looks like it would feel, if you could break it open and play with the wax. But it's not waxy. Goosh is a little like snot.

I have a kit. 4 colors. Plus stuff to mix into it, like plastic balls and things to make it metallic. And a straw thing. You see, you can blow Goosh up.

I'd like to shake the hand of the person who invented Goosh. And the person who thought of the little Homer Simpson, too.

Neal was tidying the house last night, looking at me with this, "Uh, I'm living with THAT?" look on his face while I sat on the couch and played with my new stuff.

He was just jealous.

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids