Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
08.25.04
The Littlest Operator
Last night, I babysat for the first time in 12 years. It�s Beaker�s captain�s kid, and he�s five years old. We�ll call him� Nathan. Because that is his name.

Nathan and I have been pals for a while. We�re sitting there eating pizza when I ask him if the thunder and lightening that kept me awake half the night before woke him up, too.

�No,� he says. �I slept really well.�

I tell him, �That�s good!�

�Yeah. I had really good dreams.�

This makes me wonder what could possible constitute a �good dream� for a five year old. So I asked him, �What did you dream about?�

Not missing a beat, Nathan replied, �They were good because they were about YOU.�

I SAID something like, �Aw, you�re sweet. Eat your pizza.� But I THOUGHT, �Damn. That is pretty freaking smooth for a kindergartener. Given all the time I�ve spent in bars, I should be able to see every pick-up line coming a mile away, but he totally sprung that one on me! I just got FED a LINE by a five year old.�

I really need to get out more.

Or not, because last weekend I:

1. Resisted the urge to try out the bidet at the reception for the newly-installed businesswoman�s club National President Installation Reception

2. Captured baby jellyfish

3. Dubbed a dessert fork �Fork Lauderdale� while at a club called Swig, then laughed hysterically at my own pun-infused cleverness

4. Fed iguanas fruit

5. Salsa-danced with a bald gentleman

6. In no particular order.

AND, I stayed in Friday night!

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids