Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
07.25.03
Highlights From The Land By The Lake
  • Staying at very nice hotels. The Renaissance, however, has terrifying and slow and too few elevators. I�m not afraid of elevators, and I was nervous. If too many people were on, it wouldn�t move until someone got off. Freaky.

  • Assisting with a camp for at-risk young women. I did many things, including lead a group in an art project. I�ll tell you this: those girls are not afraid of color. My eyes just stopped bleeding.

  • Seeing my dad and sister. They got to see me speak, and then dad bought me a delicious steak. We drank red wine and I grilled him about his love life. I approve, I guess.

  • Being so busy I didn�t have time to be sad about the anniversary of my mom�s death (yep, it�s been a year � hard to believe, huh?) or the day after, which would have been her 51st birthday.

  • Kicking total ass with my speech. It was the best I�ve ever delivered it. I was confident, I was funny, and then I was clear and convincing, and I don�t mind saying it. As I mentioned a couple entries ago, I also copped this attitude � it just came out, but it was genuine, because the foot dragging re: equal rights/pay for women really DOES piss me the fuck off. But the �tude� I don�t know, but I do know that several of the African-American candidates approached me when I was finished and said, �We ain�t NEVER seen a white girl swivel her neck like that.� This makes me strangely proud.

  • The other candidates. Young Overachievers Of The Internet: You know how you feel all alone? Like, you�re a leader, but you�re one of the few, and you�re certainly the only one your age. Well, I can�t describe how bizarre and spectacular it was spending time with a roomful of MEs. These women were terrific, and while I liked them all, I fell in love with a few.

  • The candidates going out for the first time, and falling into the habit of calling each other by our states. �We need a cab. Montana, show a little leg, would you?� �I want to go home, but I know Florida will get mad at me.� And just hugging my friend goodbye, a little sad, going, �South Dakota.� �Florida.� �Sigh.�

  • Attending a private party in the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame. Thirteen-piece band, access to all the exhibits. I don�t think I need to tell you how fun it was.

  • Being out with Ohio people again. I don�t know how to describe it, exactly, but they�re a breed like no other. I just kept looking around, thinking, �Yup. This is definitely Ohio.�

  • Eating an entire pizza with Illinois, after a night of clubhopping and fun.

  • During that night, a very handsome man approaching us and telling us we�re the best looking women in the bar. After some chit chat, Illinois asks who he is there with. He replies, �My buddy, my wife, and a few other people.� Can you imagine? Nice husband, dude. (We were WAY better looking than his wife, though.)

  • Finally buying the Harry Potter book. I wouldn�t allow myself to do this pre-conference, because I knew I wouldn�t get shit done.

  • Losing. Now, I�m competitive, and would have liked to have won. But this was the most non-competitive competition ever. Almost to the point of being bizarre. The other candidates were nice, supportive girls. No backstabbing. No cattiness. Miss America it ain�t. And I say losing was a highlight because once I had some time to slow down and think about it, I realized the winner didn�t bond with the others very much. If you told me I could have either won, or become as close as I did to South Dakota and Illinois, I�d take the new buddies hands down.

  • Looking forward to coming home. I started to miss the Keys at just the right time. Beaker picked me up at the airport, and I was never so happy to see that beat up truck.

  • The Realm of Monkey Love
    chatty chat about news and such
    buy stuff; feed poor kids