Prepare . . . for total domination.
Latest Entry Older Entries
2002-05-20
Am I Too Old To Be Boy Crazy?
Wow, another whole day at work, gone without a trace before I even realize what happened. Between avoiding writing about Neal and how busy I've been lately, I may never have time to write again. Um, except now. Right.

It's nice to be missed, though. I didn't even realize how long it'd been between updates until Kehla called my (crush-worthy) ass out.

Hey, about the Non-Writing About Neal thing. I think I have that figured out. I broke up with him 6 p.m. on May 9th. The last time I saw him was the weekend of April 13th. So, it's been about a week and a half since I ended it, and well over a month since I've seen him. I don't think I'm going to be ready to write about it until he and I see each other, which will happen soon because our stuff is so intertwined at my apartment that there's no way in hell that I could sort it myself. I wouldn't want to, anyway. Too much responsibility. Still, he can't make it down here until next month, so it'll be a while... I just don't think the end of the relationship will feel FINAL until we see each other. So I guess it won't feel that way for a few weeks, even though I'm pretty damn sure it is final.

I'm tired. I vow to you right now, my cute little readers, that I am not going out again this entire week. I was sitting on my couch yesterday in a half-coma, wondering why I felt like such complete and utter shit. I looked back and realized I'd been "out" - in some capacity, because if I wasn't drinking I was staying up until the wee hours of morning - four of the past five nights. Friday and Saturday, Shawn and I stayed out and up until at least 5:30 a.m. I saw the Sunday morning sun come up.

Think I'm cutting loose a little now that I'm single? Damn.

The single thing is really funny. I haven't NOT had a boyfriend for about 5 years, so this is a very weird feeling. See, for the past two boys, when I ended the relationship, I had a new one waiting on the side. (Sometimes more on the me than on the side, but let's not talk about that.) I was a big overlapper, and it was always the same thing - I'd find this great guy, he'd fall head over ass for me, and then I'd eventually develop romantic feelings for him. BAM!, I'm in a relationship, even though deep down I was always kind of pining for the single life. In case you couldn't tell from my description of my past week, I'm kind of wild. I always felt like these supergreat boys, while indeed supergreat, cramped my style to some degree. Some made no bones about it and actively and openly tried to change me, turn me into a sane and stable homebody. (Not that I'm unstable now. I work hard, I play hard, I'm frighteningly responsible, and no one gets hurt.) I'd also like to give myself some time to REALLY get over Neal. This one hurts more than any of the others ever have.

So I'm determined to enjoy being young, cute and single, with great clothes. Not to mention that new ass. That means I'm consciously working very, very hard to avoid entering a romantic relationship.

And of course, we all know what that means.

Man magnet.

Great men.

Possibly the only group of great men on this island.

Shawn and I had already discussed this possible effect pretty soon after The Big Breakup. I just mentioned that it will be pretty interesting now, since because a number of people know my name from the radio, I was already getting hit on quite a bit. I told Shawn that I thought it might get worse now, because I don't have the handydandy boyfriend to deter the dudes.

She leaned over to me with a spark in her eye and said, "I know. I already thought of it, too. I can't wait."

Mooch.

Just kidding. She can have all the boys, because I DON'T WANT THEM. Yes, that's a reaffirmation of my vow, in case you - or I - forgot.

Friday night, Shawn, Jennifer and I went out. We met up with New Friend Josh, and Other New Friend Handy. I had just met Handy the previous night. He was smashed before the three of us had even arrived at the bar. We all said hi and stood around for a while, before Shawn said she wanted to sit at a table. The girls plunked down first, and then the two boys pulled up chairs from other tables and situated themselves on either side of me, leaving an empty chair across from me between Shawn and Jennifer.

Of course, Jennifer leans over and starts with the, "Oooh... Jamie has TWO boyfriends! I wish I had two boyfriends! Look at them flock around! You're so speeeecial!"

It was pretty funny, though.

Silly boys.

I love them so.

Argh! Single! Single! Single!

I need a tattoo that says, "No Boys Allowed."

The Realm of Monkey Love
chatty chat about news and such
buy stuff; feed poor kids